Insight from a privacy and security CEO

Like many people, I’ve been following all of the recent government events and it leaves me wondering, “What has happened to our privacy?” Given my job, I may be tuned into this more than most people? Lately, when I talk to people this is something that most people are becoming really concerned with. Since when can the government just watch over people, track their behaviors and confiscate their information? I have heard rumors that this is taking place even without probable cause or a subpoena? This is all really, really scary to me!

It made me stop and think, “When is it acceptable to take actions in the name of National Security that violate the personal privacy of both individuals and groups provided under the U.S. Constitution?” This is not the first time this debate has been waged. However, the debate has moved beyond the confines of Capital Hill and into people’s daily lives. As people become more-and-more aware of the erosion of their personal privacy, they are left wondering both “who to trust” and “what to do”? This isn’t just the government either. There are many large companies that consider us “their product” and base their business models on going after your personal information.

It’s come to this, the days of only people that have “something to hide” being concerned with Big Brother looking over their shoulder are over. Personal privacy is now something that everyone needs to pay attention to. It is about protecting your information, your family and your Constitutional rights.

Uncle Sam

Leave a comment